#### RULES

- All Classes are open, unless otherwise stated. Entries to be sent to Secretary on or before 28th May.
- Each Competitor to be on the Field at 12.30 p.m., to commence at 1 p.m.
- Any Competitor interfering in any way with the duties of the Stewards or Judges will be disqualified. Stewards must not assist Competitors in their work.
- 4.—Every Competitor must tie up the wool of each Sheep after Shorn in a neat and clean manner. The Judges will be empowered to disqualify any Competitor not strictly complying with this rule.
- The Judges will have power to withold the whole or part of any Prize if they consider the work of insufficient merit.
- 6.—The Society will not in any way hold themselves responsible if the weather should prove impracticable to hold the Competitions, or for the loss of or injury to Sheep, Competitors or Spectators, and it is understood that on these conditions alone that the Secretary accepts the entries.
- The decision of the Committee in all matters to be accepted as final.
- There must be more Competitors in each class than prizes offered or the whole of the prizes will not be given, unless recommended by the Judges.
- Competitors are responsible for bringing out their S ieep when competing for Best Shorn Sheep in the Match.

### No stray dogs allowed in the field.

Sheep will be penned with the aim of equality for all Competitors.

Teas will be provided for all Competitors Free of Charge.

#### D. BROWN AND SONS, LTD., PRINTERS, COWBRIDGE, GLAM.

## Ystradowen, Pendoylan and District Sheep Shearing Society

(in conjunction with Maendy and District Young Farmers' Club) (Under Distinguished Patronage)

51st ANNUAL MEETING

# SHEEP SHEARING COMPETITIONS

Wednesday, 30th May, 1962

## Tymawr Field, Ystradowen

By kind permission of Mr. F. Pearce

Commencing at 1 p.m.

BUSES STOP AT FIELD ENTRANCE

President :

Vice-President : E. John, Esq.

Patrons, 1961—
Major E. A. C. Westby, Mrs. C. C. Li, Williams, Lady Boothby, Dr. T. B. Jones Mrs. H. Lawyer, Mrs. A. Phillips, Mearts, C. H. Thomas, John Corry, Percy Thomas, J. C. City, J. David, J. R. Blundell, Morgan Jones, L. Jones, T. Jervis, R. H. Williams, I. Terbarne, R. H. Sheppad, d. R. G. R. H. Sheppad, d. R. H. Harris, Geoff Evans, T. K. Davies, D. J. Ward, J. Lloudy Jones, R. Smith, H. Cox, E. Morgan, G. T. Williams, Harry Thomas, T. Lougher; Glam and Mor. Estrate; J. E. Howard Ldd., Pentyleul pointery (per T. Williams, Ed.), Noal Rees and Griffin, John S. Dyer and Son, Ldd.; Spillers, Ldd.; Boots, Chemists; Arthur John and Co., Celtic Oli Supples Ldd., Mid-Glamorgan Farmen Ldd., Watts and Morgan; H. R. Thomas, Son and Edwards; Edward John and Son; A. C. Beresford and Sons, Ldd.; George Williams, Arhur Jones de Webb; Messes, Rennic, Tuylor and Till. H. Jones, C. G. Traberne, M. J. Williams, T. Jarvis, W. R. John and Co., White Lion Hotel, Davies, M. J. Williams, J. Tayris, W. R. John and Co., White Lion Hotel, Davies, J.

Chairman—T. Llewellyn, Esq. Tel.: Cowbridge 335
Vice Chairman—T. James, Esq.
Treasurer—A. Adams, Esq.

Joint Secretaries-

Emlyn Thomas, Prisk Farm, Nr. Cowbridge Graham Jervis, New Forest, Ystradowen, Cowbridge, Telephone 482

Committee

Messrs, G. Jervis, R. Rosser, F. Bradley, E. Evans, W. H. Mathew, D. C. Lewis, R. J. Francis, J. Jeremiah, W. Hoare, J. Thomas, R. G. Lewis, W. Francis, J. Jervis, Rev. J. J. Thomas, H. Harris, J. Watkins, Gwynne Lewis, D. Lewis, J. Evans, G. Evans, T. Thomas, F. Pearce, N. Lewis, G. Geremiah, also Maendy Youne Farmers' Club.

Judges: T. James, J. Jarvis

Members Annual Fee 10/- (1961)

Mesra, J. Thomas, W. Brown, A. Morgan, S. O. Davies, E. Morgan, T. A. Walker, J. Evans, C. J. David, Harry, R. Thomas, E. Thomas, F. Pearce, T. Thomas, H. Thomas, Mansel Hopkin, H. Mervyn Morgan, E. Reader, T. Thomas, H. Thomas, Mansel Hopkin, H. Mervyn Morgan, E. Reader, T. Thowas, G. Gorge Levis, R. C. Aldridge, E. J. Evans, John Llevellyn, D. L. Williams, M. Richards, W. Harrison, I. Hopkins, L. Green, John Raymond, T. Jervis, Ivor Radcliffe, Edwin Morgan, E. N. Lewis, J. Baker, V. Thomas, H. John, E. D. Mathew, I. H. Friee, J. Jarvis, T. Williams, A. Durtin, A. Paullet, A. Evans, D. T. Morgan, N. Llevellyn, Glyn Thomas, T. Davies, T. M. Williams, D. M. Maddell, A. E. Brewert, J. Jones, M. and R. G. Yosma, D. Rez, Mun Lewis, Griffiths, Owen Arnott, R. Maddock, J. M. Richards, H. Morgan, F. M. Williams, W. T. Res, W. Mordecci, W. Buckland, David Brox, I. H. Radcliffe, L. J. G. Mastoe, Ivor Promas, R. T. Morgan, P. M. Radcliffe, J. G. Matsoe, Ivor Promas, R. T. Morgan, P. M. Paylor, J. B. Williams, M. T. Res, W. Mordecci, W. Buckland, David Brox, I. H. Radcliffe, J. Clafe, J. G. Mustoe, Ivor Thomas, R. Edwards, M. Taylor, J. Lucker, Lucker, M. Radcliffe, J. Lucker, M. Milliams, John Thomas, R. Edwards, M. Taylor, J. Lucker, M. Markers, M. Taylor, J. Lucker, M. Radcliffe, J. Lucker, M. Markers, M. Taylor, J. M. Williams, John Thomas, R. Edwards, M. Taylor, J. Lucker, M. Markers, M. Taylor, J. M. Williams, John Thomas, R. Edwards, M. Taylor, J. Lucker, M. Markers, M. Taylor, J. M. Richards, M. Taylor, J. M. R

All subscribers of over 10/- are cordially invited to attend Supper at the Church Hall Ystradowen, the same evening at 7 p.m. The following prizes will be offered for Competition:-

CLASS 1.—Machine Class, open to all comers—
To Shear Four Sheep in one and a half hours.

First Prize £5. Second £2 10s. Third £1 5s. Entrance Fee 5/-

CLASS 2.—Machine Class, open to all comers, who have never won Two First Prizes in this or any higher class— To Shear Four Sheep in one and a half hours.

First Prize £4. Second £2 10s. Third £1 5s. Entrance Fee 4/-

CLASS 3.—Machine Class, open to all under 25 who have never won Two First Prizes in this or any higher class— To Shear Four Sheep in one and a half hours.

First Prize £4. Second £2 10s. Third £1 5s. Entrance Fee 4/-

CLASS 4.—Machine Class, open to competitors resident in the County of Glamorgan, under 25, who have never won Two First Prizes in this or any higher class—
To Shear Three Sheep in one and a half hours.

First Prize £3 10s. and English Pewter Tankard—(given by R. Silcocks & Sons and W. P. Thomas, Esq.). / Second £2 5s. Third £1 5s. Entrance Fee 3/6

CLASS 5.—Machine Class, open to all those under 20, resident in the County of Glamorgan, except those who have won Two First Prizes in this or any higher class. To Shear Three Sheep in one and a half hours.

First Prize £3. Second £2. Third £1 5s. Fourth 15/-5/- to each other competitor—also **Challenge Cup**—(given by Maendy Y.F.C.) to be awarded for the best work done by a competitor who is a member of a Y.F.C. affiliated to the Glamorgan

Entrance Fee 3/-

CLASS 6.—Machine Class. (Open)—
To Shear One Sheep in eight minutes.

County Federation.

First Prize £1. Second 10/- Entrance Fee 1/-

CLASS 7.—Machine Class, open to all under 21, resident in the County of Glamorgan, who have never won Two First Prizes in this or Class 6—

To Shear One Sheep in ten minutes.

First Prize £1. Second 10/Competitors in Machine Classes must supply their own machines.

Richard Lewis Memorial Cup for the Best Shorn Sheep in the Match.

(Not to be won outright)